D-Day Landings in Normandy

Tour

DEPARTS FROM: Convenient joining points in the UK, or begin/end your tour in Europe

from: $823
4 Days
  • Price: per person, twin share
  • Deposit: 30%
This 4 or 5 day WW2 tour explores the most iconic D-Day locations and visits all the D-Day landing beaches along the Normandy coastline.

D-Day Landings in Normandy

Tour Info

Itinerary

Dates

Tour Includes

Book Now

6 June 1944 was a turning point in the Second World War with the Allied landings on the Normandy coast during Operation Overlord – the Invasion of mainland Europe. On what is our main WW2 Introductory Tour we see some of the most iconic D-Day locations and visit all the D-Day landing beaches along the Normandy coastline as well as seeing the site of the Pegasus Bridge glider landing, and where the ‘Band of Brothers’ fought near St. Mère Eglise. Understand D-Day as you overlook Bloody Omaha, or visit the bunkers at Juno Beach and realise that events on these battle sites are what have defined our modern world.

Itinerary

Day 1

 
Depart from your chosen UK pick-up point and travel to the port where a coach interchange will take place, you will then join your tour coach for the Channel crossing. On arrival on the Continent we continue to our hotel (passengers joining the tour in Europe will meet the group at the hotel this evening).
 

Day 2 - Britain’s D-Day: Pegasus Bridge & British Beaches

 

We start at Pegasus Bridge, the scene of the first actions of D-Day, where Airborne troops stormed the position from gliders and held on until the linkup with ground forces from Sword Beach was made. We see where the gliders landed, the Gondrée Café – arguably the first house liberated on D-Day – and visit the Memorial Pegasus Museum where the original bridge is located. In Ranville we see the Airborne graves and after lunch, proceed on to the British landing beaches, starting at Sword Beach. At Juno Beach we visit the Juno Beach Centre which explains the story of the Canadian role in the Battle of Normandy, and at Gold Beach, see where some of the heaviest casualties were suffered by British troops storming the tough defences at Asnelles. We end the day at Arromanches where the Mulberry Harbour was constructed, much of which is still visible out to sea.

*Breakfast Included

 

STAR INCUSIONS  ★ Arromanches   Juno Beach   Pegasus Bridge   Sword Beach

 

Day 3 - America’s D-Day: Bloody Omaha & American Airborne

 

The story of ‘Bloody Omaha’ and the terrible American sacrifice here on D-Day has been immortalised in the film Saving Private Ryan. Uncover the real story with a visit to the Normandy American Cemetery and Omaha Beach where the landings took place, seeing the memorial to the 29th Division. We also take time to visit the newest Normandy war museum, the Overlord Museum-Omaha Beach, before taking lunch in St. Mère Église, and then looking at the story of the US Airborne forces at the new Richard Winters Leadership Memorial; Dick Winters commanded Easy Company of 506th Parachute Infantry Regiment, otherwise known as the ‘Band of Brothers’. At Utah Beach we follow the story of the successful landings and visit the expanded Utah Beach Museum. We end the day at the German Cemetery at La Cambe, where German Tank Ace Michael Wittmann is buried.

*Breakfast Included

 

STAR INCUSIONS  ★ Omaha Beach   Overlord Museum   Richard Winters Leadership Memorial   Utah Beach Museum   German Cemetery la Cambe   Normandy American Cemetery   Bastogne War Museum   Mardasson Memorial

Day 4

We leave the hotel after breakfast and travel to the Channel port. You will leave your tour coach behind as you join your transfer vehicle for your return journey to the UK (passengers departing the tour in Europe will farewell the group at the hotel).

*Breakfast Included

Day 1

 
Depart from your chosen UK pick-up point and travel to the port where a coach interchange will take place, you will then join your tour coach for the Channel crossing. On arrival on the Continent we continue to our hotel (passengers joining the tour in Europe will meet the group at the hotel this evening).
 

Day 2 - Britain’s D-Day: Pegasus Bridge & British Beaches

 

We start at Pegasus Bridge, the scene of the first actions of D-Day, where Airborne troops stormed the position from gliders and held on until the linkup with ground forces from Sword Beach was made. We see where the gliders landed, the Gondrée Café – arguably the first house liberated on D-Day – and visit the Memorial Pegasus Museum where the original bridge is located. In Ranville we see the Airborne graves and after lunch, proceed on to the British landing beaches, starting at Sword Beach. At Juno Beach we visit the Juno Beach Centre which explains the story of the Canadian role in the Battle of Normandy, and at Gold Beach, see where some of the heaviest casualties were suffered by British troops storming the tough defences at Asnelles. We end the day at Arromanches where the Mulberry Harbour was constructed, much of which is still visible out to sea.

*Breakfast Included

 

STAR INCUSIONS  ★ Arromanches   Juno Beach   Pegasus Bridge   Sword Beach

 

Day 3 - America’s D-Day: Bloody Omaha & American Airborne

 

The story of ‘Bloody Omaha’ and the terrible American sacrifice here on D-Day has been immortalised in the film Saving Private Ryan. Uncover the real story with a visit to the Normandy American Cemetery and Omaha Beach where the landings took place, seeing the memorial to the 29th Division. We also take time to visit the newest Normandy war museum, the Overlord Museum-Omaha Beach, before taking lunch in St. Mère Église, and then looking at the story of the US Airborne forces at the new Richard Winters Leadership Memorial; Dick Winters commanded Easy Company of 506th Parachute Infantry Regiment, otherwise known as the ‘Band of Brothers’. At Utah Beach we follow the story of the successful landings and visit the expanded Utah Beach Museum. We end the day at the German Cemetery at La Cambe, where German Tank Ace Michael Wittmann is buried.

*Breakfast Included

 

STAR INCUSIONS  ★ Omaha Beach   Overlord Museum   Richard Winters Leadership Memorial   Utah Beach Museum   German Cemetery la Cambe   Normandy American Cemetery   Bastogne War Museum   Mardasson Memoria

Day 4 - Battle of the Bocage: Falaise Gap

We start our look at the fighting beyond D-Day in the bocage countryside south of Bayeux. We examine the bloody battles for Tilly-sur-Seulles and the tough fighting at Fontenay le Pesnel. Driving through the so-called ‘Scottish Corridor’ over the river Odon, we visit Hill 112 with its Churchill tank memorial. Lunch in Falaise, followed by a visit to the Falaise Pocket and a short walk along the ‘Corridor of Death’, used by the Germans to make their retreat in August 1944. On Mont Ormel we visit the Polish Memorial to their ferocious battle and end the day by seeing a very rare original Tiger I tank at Vimoutiers.

*Breakfast included

 

STAR INCLUSIONS  ★ Corridor Of Death  Fontenay le Pesnel  Falaise Pocket  Polish Memorial   Churchill Tank Memorial

 

Day 5

We leave the hotel after breakfast and travel to the Channel port. You will leave your tour coach behind as you join your transfer vehicle for your return journey to the UK (passengers departing the tour in Europe will farewell the group at the hotel).

*Breakfast Included

Departure Dates















































































Departure DateDaysTravel ByTour refPrice
Mon 2 March 20205Silver Service5FDNV/1$1123
Thu 5 March 20204Silver Service4FDNV/1$898
Thu 5 March 20204Silver Service4FDNV/2$898
Thu 19 March 20204Luxuria4FDNX/2$1073
Mon 23 March 20205Silver Service5FDNV/2$1148
Fri 27 March 20204Silver Service4FDNV/1$948
Fri 27 March 20204Silver Service4FDNV/2$948
Mon 30 March 20205Luxuria5FDNX/2$1423
Fri 3 April 20204Silver Service4FDNV/2$973
Mon 6 April 20205Silver Service5FDNV/1$1248
Fri 10 April 20204Executive4FDN/2$848
Fri 10 April 20204Silver Service4FDNV/2$973
Fri 17 April 20204Executive4FDN/1$848
Fri 17 April 20204Silver Service4FDNV/2$973
Mon 20 April 20205Silver Service5FDNV/2$1173
Fri 24 April 20204Executive4FDN/1$848
Fri 24 April 20204Silver Service4FDNV/1$973
Fri 1 May 20204Executive4FDN/1$873
Fri 1 May 20204Silver Service4FDNV/1$1023
Mon 4 May 20205Silver Service5FDNV/1$1223
Mon 11 May 20205Executive5FDN/1$1048
Mon 18 May 20205Silver Service5FDNV/2$1248
Fri 22 May 20204Executive4FDN/2$923
Mon 25 May 20205Silver Service5FDNV/2$1423
Mon 25 May 20205Luxuria5FDNX/2$1448
Mon 1 June 20205Silver Service5FDNV/1$1248
Mon 8 June 20205Silver Service5FDNV/2$1498
Fri 19 June 20204Executive4FDN/1$923
Mon 29 June 20205Silver Service5FDNV/1$1248
Mon 6 July 20205Executive5FDN/1$1098
Mon 13 July 20205Silver Service5FDNV/1$1248
Mon 13 July 20205Luxuria5FDNX/1$1473
Fri 17 July 20204Executive4FDN/1$898
Fri 17 July 20204Executive4FDNH/1$1148
Mon 27 July 20205Silver Service5FDNV/1$1248
Mon 27 July 20205Luxuria5FDNX/1$1473
Mon 3 August 20205Luxuria5FDNX/2$1448
Fri 7 August 20204Executive4FDNH/1$1148
Fri 14 August 20204Executive4FDN/1$898
Mon 17 August 20205Silver Service5FDNV/1$1248
Mon 17 August 20205Silver Service5FDNHV/1$1573
Fri 21 August 20204Executive4FDN/1$898
Mon 24 August 20205Silver Service5FDNV/1$1248
Mon 24 August 20205Silver Service5FDNHV/1$1573
Fri 4 September 20204Executive4FDN/1$873
Mon 7 September 20205Executive5FDN/1$1098
Fri 11 September 20204Executive4FDN/1$873
Fri 18 September 20204Executive4FDN/1$873
Thu 24 September 20204Executive4FDN/1$873
Fri 2 October 20204Executive4FDN/1$823
Mon 5 October 20205Silver Service5FDNV/1$1223
Mon 19 October 20205Silver Service5FDNV/1$1198
Thu 22 October 20204Silver Service4FDNHV/1$1248
Mon 26 October 20205Silver Service5FDNV/1$1198
Mon 26 October 20205Luxuria5FDNX/1$1448
Mon 26 October 20205Silver Service5FDNHV/1$1498
Thu 29 October 20204Silver Service4FDNV/1$948
Thu 29 October 20204Luxuria4FDNX/1$1073
Mon 1 March 20215Silver Service5FDNV/1$1173
Thu 4 March 20214Executive4FDN/1$823
Thu 4 March 20214Silver Service4FDNV/1$923
Thu 18 March 20214Luxuria4FDNX/1$1123
Mon 22 March 20215Silver Service5FDNV/1$1198
Fri 26 March 20214Silver Service4FDNV/1$973
Mon 29 March 20215Luxuria5FDNX/1$1473
Fri 2 April 20214Silver Service4FDNV/1$998
Mon 12 April 20215Silver Service5FDNV/1$1223
Fri 16 April 20214Executive4FDN/1$873
Fri 16 April 20214Silver Service4FDNV/1$998
Mon 3 May 20215Silver Service5FDNV/1$1273
Mon 10 May 20215Executive5FDN/1$1098
Fri 21 May 20214Executive4FDN/1$948
Mon 24 May 20215Luxuria5FDNX/1$1498
Mon 7 June 20215Silver Service5FDNV/1$1298
Fri 11 June 20214Executive4FDN/1$948
Mon 14 June 20215Luxuria5FDNX/1$1498
Fri 16 July 20214Executive4FDNH/1$1198
Mon 26 July 20215Silver Service5FDNHV/1$1623

Your Tour Includes

  • 3 or 4 nights' hotel accommodation
  • Daily continental breakfast
  • Specialist Battlefield Historian
  • Hundreds of convenient joining points in the UK, or begin/end your tour in Europe
  • Travel by Executive coach or upgrade to Silver Service or Luxuria

Book Now

Contact our reservations team on 1300 880 340 or click on the enquiry button above.

We are a full-service travel agency and can book your entire European holiday!

Ask about our airfare, hotel, car hire and river cruise deals, which offer great discounts when booked in conjunction with our tours.

Full terms and conditions click here

Value Tours are operated in conjunction with our UK partner, Leger Holidays.

Please note: Itineraries are subject to change due to operational reasons. Any changes will be advised closer to the time of departure.

Related Tours

×

Cart